Book Review: Vegan Ice Cream

May 18, 2016

http://images.randomhouse.com/cover/9781607745457?width=125&alt=no_cover_b4b.gif

I received a review copy of Vegan Ice Cream, by Jeff Rogers, from Blogging for Books, which is run by Penguin-Random House. At first I was really excited because I am always looking for new ways to make ice cream on my own–and save the $5-7 it costs to buy a pint at the store.

However, when the book arrived, that excitement turned to dismay–the book had previously been published as Vice Cream, and I had owned a copy–and been disappointed with it. The disappointment stemmed from the fact that the recipes primarily used soaked and ground raw cashews for the ice cream base. While this is fine in principle, I am just not a person who will go through that amount of labor to make ice cream. When I want ice cream, I don’t want to have to wait several hours for it to happen. And the price of raw cashews doesn’t make the process cost effective. So, I was a bit frustrated.

I decided to give the book a read, and I noticed a difference in this new edition. In the Basics chapter, Rogers states “You may substitute coconut milk, in part or in full, for the cashews and water in my recipes” (9). This was better! Of course, he goes on to explain how to make coconut milk from a whole coconut, but I didn’t see why canned coconut milk couldn’t be used instead. Yes, there is less control over the ingredient, and making coconut milk from scratch is probably better, but I did mention that when I wanted ice cream, I didn’t want to wait hours for it–or have tons of equipment to clean afterward.

The first recipe I tried was the Chocolate Pecan, and instead of the 1 1/2 cups of cashew-water blend, I used a can of full fat coconut milk, using soymilk to make up any shortage. It was delicious! Rich, creamy, and chocolatey. I think we devoured it all in a weekend. Most of the recipes make a quart, so it is a bigger amount than one would typically by in the store–most pre-packaged vegan ice creams come in pint containers.

I also made the Raspberry, again with coconut milk, and that was also delicious. Having eaten dairy ice cream as a kid, the lack of flavors available in vegan ice cream at the store is disappointing. Having a book like this, which has all the basic flavors as well as some more unusual ones like Jalapeño Heaven and Carrot Cake, should satisfy any ice cream craving.

To round out my testing of the recipes, I did make some Vanilla with the cashews as directed. It was good, but there was a strong cashew flavor, obviously. For me, coconut milk is pretty much a neutral flavor–I don’t taste it in baked goods or ice cream–or maybe I just expect the coconut flavor, so I don’t notice. I didn’t dislike the cashew flavor, but it also distracted from the vanilla. Maybe it would be less noticeable in a stronger-flavored ice cream. Also, the nuts weren’t ground up as finely as maybe they should have been, so there were bits of cashews in the ice cream. I will chalk that up to my impatience for ice creamy goodness.

All in all, I am happy to have a copy of this book again. Going forward, I will probably stick with the coconut milk substitution, but when I have a craving for ice cream, there are plenty of flavors here to deal with that.

As a side note, I always keep the bowl of my ice cream maker in the freezer, so when I do want to make ice cream, it is ready to go!

For more info on the book, click here.

Author info can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

