Back on Track, I Hope!

April 22, 2015

Life would be so much easier if I didn’t love food.

But I do. And within my vegan and gluten-free restrictions, I love it all–sweet, salty, spicy. I love to cook, and then I love to enjoy what I made. I love to try new things from the store. I love to go to the local vegan bakery and to eat out at restaurants.

The problem is that I am not so much a fan of exercise, so I need to have some pretty strict controls in place to keep from overdoing. And that control is hard to maintain.

In November 2013, my diet kind of went off the rails, and it stayed there until a month or so ago. I put on some weight–not a lot in the grand scheme, but enough that some of my clothes stopped fitting and others were approaching that point. I just couldn’t get my act back together. I also noticed that I lapsed in my posts here, partly, no doubt, because I felt I had little good to say about myself.

But last month I decided I had had about enough, so I recommitted to eating well. I bought a VivoFit, and I wear it constantly. I have it synched with a food tracking app, so I can earn foody treats by moving more. I started to going to Zumba again. So far, my knees are holding out, and it is paying off. Slowly, but I am making progress.

As long as I pay attention and diligently track what I eat, the pounds are coming off. I am doing better about not buying lots of extras at the store. Weekends are still tough, but I am working on that. I have discovered that a routine is key–and limiting temptation.

Of course, the other members of my family also love food, and it is a challenge to make them understand that we can’t have cupboards loaded with treats. Mainly because I work mostly from home, and, if it is here, I will eat it. Do I lack willpower? You betcha. But, on the other hand, not buying lots of snacks is good for everyone in the long run, and it gives us extra cash for other things, like books or yarn. 🙂

To be continued!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

