Book Review: Pies and Tarts with Heart

July 1, 2014

I don’t make pies. They tend to stress me out with all the rolling and what not, so I avoid them. So when I got a copy of Pies and Tarts with Heart, by Dynise Balcavage, to review, I saw it as a chance to be converted to the wonders of making pies–and, to some degree, it worked.

One of my favorite things about this book was that it isn’t 100% what I think of when I think of pie cookbooks. Yes, the usual suspects are there, but there is a big section on savory pies, as well as “Imposter” pies–think whoopie and shepherd’s. All the recipes are vegan–I love being able to skim a cookbook knowing I can make just about anything. And just about every recipe has a gluten-free option, which is also great. I think there are only a handful of recipes that are dependent on gluten ingredients like phyllo or puff pastry, and as the market expands, that may change.

The first recipe I made, Macaroni Pie, came from the “Imposter” chapter. It was really easy, and all the ingredients are probably in everyone’s kitchen. Since my husband is not a mac and cheese fan, I made it for my daughter and I when he was out of town. Sadly for me, I only got one or two servings because my daughter liked it so much, she wanted the leftovers for lunch that week. Good parent that I am, I sacrificed my chance to have the leftovers for my own lunch. When she asks to take leftovers for lunch, I know I have a hit.

Macaroni Pie

Macaroni Pie

IMG_1190

Macaroni Pie leftovers for lunch!

 

From the Savory Pies and Tarts chapter, I tried out the Cheeseburger Pie and the Hash Brown-Crusted Breakfast Pie. They were also both very good–and I think the Cheeseburger Pie went to lunch as well. For the Hash Brown Crust I used frozen hash browns because I didn’t feel like grating potatoes, and they seemed to work OK. I also used tempeh in place of the ready made breakfast sausage, because I couldn’t find a gluten-free option. The Cheeseburger Pie was the only one that called for a rolled crust, and the g-f recipe was pretty easy.

Cheeseburger Pie

Cheeseburger Pie

Hash Brown Crusted Breakfast Pie

Hash Brown-Crusted Breakfast Pie

The chapter on Nutty Pies included Choco-Coco Macadamia Pie, and the picture in the book was enough to put it at the top of my Must Make List. A macadamia nut crust filled with chocolate, cream cheese, and coconut–I could have eaten the whole thing myself–in one sitting. But I was good and did share. It was creamy, crunchy, and chocolatey. Yum, yum, and yum.

Choco-Coco Macadamia Pie

Choco-Coco Macadamia Pie–the last slice!

My husband chose the Lemon Fluff Pie, from the Citrus Pies and Tarts chapter, for Father’s Day, but I ran out of time for the crust, so we had the filling as a pudding with the Enjoy Life! chocolate cookies I bought to make the crust from on the side. It was really good.

IMG_1388

Lemon Fluff Pie Filling with a Chocolate Cookie and Chocolate Chips

Decadent and Creamy Pies–the title of the chapter kind of says it all. The S’more Pie jumped out at me, and I made it recently for company. I used shortbread cookies for the crust instead of graham crackers–we also use those cookies to make s’mores, so I knew it would work. When I brought it out of the fridge, my daughter said it looked just like the picture in the book–praise doesn’t get much higher than that!

IMG_1422

S’more Pie

While I haven’t become a total convert to pies, this cookbook did make me realize that pies don’t have to completely stress me out., and I do look forward to exploring some of the other recipes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

