Endless Winter

February 28, 2014

I know it isn’t really endless, but I am beginning to think we’ve all been transported to the North of Westeros. Forget Winter is Coming, it has come, kicked our butts, and is refusing to leave!

Anyway, the calendar says Spring is coming soon, though I do have my doubts at the moment–especially when the temperature reaching 32 is a cause for celebration. But I digress.

I wrote a few weeks ago that I was determined to get back to clean eating, and I am happy to say that I have been largely successful with that. My weight is just about back to where it should be and the cupboards are largely junk-free. All this bad weather hasn’t helped, since snow days bring out the desire for chips and warm bread–along with warm chocolaty things. Maybe I shouldn’t be writing this before lunch….

To honor the cold weather, I did make a wonderful Pumpkin Chili last week–the recipe came from Great Gluten-Free Vegan Eats. I cut back on the spices a bit for family consumption–though except for the day I made it, I have been the only one eating it! I had never made a pumpkin-based soup before, and I wasn’t sure I would like it, but it was quite good–pumpkin is definitely not just for sweets! It also has chickpeas, black beans, tomatoes, corn, and green pepper. Maybe I will have some for lunch!

Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin Chili

Well, all this talk of food is making me hungry, so I think I should run with that lunch idea. More yumminess to come, I promise. And some new book reviews soon!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

