End of School Year Craziness

July 1, 2013

As always, the end of the school year brings with it an over-packed schedule! That is part of the reason it has been so long between posts–just too much going on! Of course, the over-packed schedule means lots of events and lots of cooking for me. And now that camp has begun, that is not going to end anytime soon!

So, to recap–

My daughter participated in an after school club called One Hen, which is a micro-finance site for kids sort of like Kiva. She really enjoyed it, and they raised quite a bit of money through various events. One was a bake sale, and I was persuaded to make cookies. Phoebe loves the Cowboy/girl Cookie recipe from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, so that is what I made. I experimented with the recipe and made it gluten-free–they were still great. I had to freeze them so there were still cookies for the bake sale! And once they were sent it, none made it home!

Cowgirl Cookies

Cowgirl Cookies

Since my daughter’s birthday is over the summer, she brings in a birthday snack around the right date in June, so she can celebrate with her whole class. This year, she asked for cookies–Chocolate Snickerdoodles and Lazy Samoas, both from Vegan Cookies Invade. The latter is a vegan version of the Girls Scouts cookie, and I made it gluten-free as well. They were delicious! Again, they almost didn’t make it to school! Unfortunately, the chocolate cookies were shy and didn’t want to be photographed.

Lazy Samoas

Lazy Samoas

Her class had an end-of-year party, and the parents were tapped to provide the buffet. How is it that the kids get to celebrate and the parents have to do all the work! Anyway, I was also making something for the school picnic after the moving up ceremony, so I turned to an easy stand-by–the Jam Bars recipe from The Vegetarian Family Cookbook. I used cherry preserves and called them Cherry Pie Bars. Sadly, my daughter failed to pass that info onto the rest of the class and most of them came home–but she has been able to take them for snack! For the all-school picnic, I made the Maple Pound Cake recipe from Have Your Cake and Vegan Too. However, with all the rain we had been getting, we opted not to go to the picnic in the end, thinking the park would be a mess. So we have that for snacks as well!

Cherry Pie Bars

Cherry Pie Bars

The last end-of-school baking requirement was for the class field trip, which I had offered to help chaperone. We went on a river cruise, which was nice, and I wanted to make something that was gluten-free so I could eat it to and not dependent on refrigeration. I decided on some Crispy Rice Treats from The Gluten-Free Vegan. I worried about the puffed rice that the recipe called for, but they were fabulous. I used dried cranberries instead of the raisins/currants. It was a challenge to eat just one!

IMG_0723

Crispy Rice Treats

Now that camp has started, we have gone back to Vegan Lunchbox to find more fun menus. The first week she picked one featuring Mini Wellingtons, which had a yummy filling wrapped in puff pastry. I sampled some of the filling before I made the Wellingtons! Since it was Harry Potter camp, I tried making lightning bolts in the pastry, but they didn’t all show up after they were baked. My daughter still thought it was cool though!

Mini Wellingtons

Mini Wellingtons

This week we decided on Chickpea Salad Sandwiches from Vegan Lunchbox. The salad is made using the Cheesy Roasted Chickpeas recipe, which came out quite tasty and would make a wonderful snack on their own. I also made some Strawberry Muffins for snack, using one of the variations for the Basic Muffins, Seven Ways recipe in Vegetarian Family.

Yesterday, my cooking moods continued, helped by the fact that I had gotten snacks out of the way Saturday. We received cabbage in our CSA box, so I made the Cool Slaw recipe from Appetite for Reduction. When making the dressing, I soaked the cashews like the recipe said, but I didn’t blend for the full five minutes–I am too impatient. As the recipe predicted, it was a little grainy, but it was barely noticeable, and it tasted great.

I also switched back to the Masala Baked Tofu recipe in Appetite for Reduction this week, getting a little bored with the Basic one. I wanted to make Buffalo Tofu, but I also wanted to make tempeh, so I compromised and made the Hot Sauce-Glazed Tempeh recipe from Veganomicon. As seems to always be the case, the marinade was more than enough for double the tempeh.

Cool Slaw

Cool Slaw

IMG_0785

Cool Slaw with Hot Sauce-Glazed Tempeh

After all of this cooking, I think tonight will be low key–mashed potatoes from the box and Gardein Chick’n patties (a burger for me!). Just need to add some CSA veggies to go along with it.

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

