Cookbook Review: Whole Grain Vegan Baking

May 22, 2013

The wonderful people at Fair Winds Press sent me a copy of Whole Grain Vegan Baking to review for this very blog, and I have to say I am having a blast with the recipes. Counting the Chocolate Ganache, I have made six of the recipes so far, and they have all come out great.

This is not a gluten-free cookbook although a lot of g-f flours are used in conjunction with the wheat-based ones. I am always a bit nervous modifying a recipe to be g-f since I have had some less than great results in the past. So, I decided to make some as written and modify others to see how flexible the recipes actually are. Since some g-f ingredients were already used, the recipes only required partial substitutions.

The introduction gives a fairly thorough introduction to vegan baking and the different flours and other ingredients used in the book. There are many pictures for inspiration and motivation. The only thing missing is nutritional information, but these are baked goods, so knowing the calories would probably not be a good thing!

My daughter loves pancakes and waffles for any meal, so I made the Fill-You-Up Oat Flapjacks for supper one night last week. This I did modify, so I could have them too, and I did add a bit more flour to make the batter thicker–as mentioned in the recipe notes. My daughter insisted on some chocolate chips in hers, and the recipe made enough to feed all of us–two adults and a child. You could probably stretch it to feed four; I am just opposed to leaving just a few pancakes to be leftovers!

20130522-155824.jpg

Fill-You-Up Oat Flapjacks

The Blackberry Allspice Muffins I made pretty much as written, so I had to depend on my tasters for the verdict. My husband thought they could have been sweeter, and there is an option to add more sugar. But that was the only thing, and they are almost gone, so I am guessing they were otherwise OK!

20130522-160258.jpg

Blackberry Allspice Muffins

We went on a car trip Sunday, and I wanted to bring a snack, so I made the Kicked-Up Chocolate Cookies. This I did make gluten-free. I am not going to miss out on chocolate! I scooped instead of rolling and cutting, and I got 16 cookies. Since this was a family trip, I did leave out the cayenne to make the cookies more kid friendly. Next time I make the Chocolate Ganache that tops them, I will use about half the espresso powder–the coffee taste was a little too evident.

20130522-160240.jpg

Kicked-Up Chocolate Cookies

I just finished making the Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies to serve at my daughter’s book group meeting on Friday. I was out of peanut butter, having taken a spoon to what was left in the jar last night, so I used almond butter. And, since they are for kids, I left out the Siracha sauce. I did tweak these so I could have at least one to try, and the half I just ate was quite good. My daughter ate the other half and she concurs. I used a smaller cookie scoop and got 15 cookies.

20130522-160503.jpg

Almond Butter Surprise Cookies

This weekend we are going to a retirement party, and the food is potluck, so I made the Onion Caraway Whole Wheat Loaf to bring along. I made it as muffins to make it easier to serve. I got 13 that way, which left an extra for my husband and daughter to try last night–I did not modify these. Thumbs up from both of them, so we’ll see how the rest of the party goers like them!

Onion Caraway Whole Wheat Muffins

Onion Caraway Whole Wheat Muffins

There are many other recipes in the book I want to try, but I wanted to get the review posted, so I will talk about those another time. Modifying the recipes was definitely not a problem. If you like to bake and are looking for healthier options, do check this book out!

2 Responses to “Cookbook Review: Whole Grain Vegan Baking”


  1. I recently got this cookbook and am loving it so far! Nice to see your review of some of the recipes I haven’t tried yet.


Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

