BBQ and Brownies!

April 17, 2013

Not together, mind you, but I liked the alliteration. My daughter and I had a girls’ day last Saturday, and part of that consisted of making Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownies. I found the recipe in a recent issue of Self, and it looked too good not to try to tweak for my diet. It was easy to make gluten-free since oat flour makes up the bulk of the dry ingredients, and I have g-f oat flour on hand. Then I just subbed some of my g-f all-purpose flour mix for what the recipe called for. A flaxseed mush went in place of the eggs, and we were good to go! I also used oil instead of vegan margarine–simply because I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to wait for it to soften. 🙂  I used frozen cherries.

The results were quite yummy. They are soft, chocolatey, and moist. The cherries give them a nice Black Forest Cake vibe. Since we tend to get lots of cherries in our CSA box, I will be keeping this recipe!

Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownies

Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownies

Sunday actually turned out to be a light cooking day for me. There were Banana Bread Scones leftover from the week before, so they came out of the freezer for school snacks–not to mention we had the brownies. I had a celery root that I needed to do something with, so I chopped and boiled it, then mashed it and mixed it in with some mashed potatoes. Personally, I love Edward & Sons Organic Mashed Potatoes. I may completely destroy my cooking cred, but I don’t see why I need to spend all sorts of time cooking and mashing potatoes when there is a perfectly wonderful option out there that avoids all this. My husband gets to have them whenever he wants, and I get to focus my energy on other cooking projects! And, hey, I mashed the celery root!

So husband and daughter had mashed potatoes and celery root, mixed veggies, and veggie burgers, and I had the last piece of the Breakfast Casserole I made the week before. After I got the weekly batch of baked tofu in the oven, I was free to knit for the rest of the day!

The only drawback to all this was that I didn’t have anything made for dinners during the week. So Monday I made Tamarind BBQ Tempeh and Sweet Potatoes from Appetite for Reduction. It took me forever to get the Tamarind concentrate, but I eventually got some through Amazon to make the recipe. Another great recipe from the book, although the rest of the family aren’t huge barbeque fans. I thought it was really tasty. Monday we had it with some of the leftover mashed potato/celery root, and yesterday I had some in a tortilla with lettuce as a sandwich.

Tamarind BBQ Tempeh and Sweet Potatoes

Tamarind BBQ Tempeh and Sweet Potatoes

And, as an update of sorts, my weight is holding steady, so this continues to work!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

