Food for Spring!

April 2, 2013

Between my husband’s spring break and a house full of sick people–myself included–the past couple of weeks have been crazy. As much as I can procrastinate and be scatter-brained, I hate it when my routine gets thrown off! Plus, both these events throw wrenches in my eating. Having my husband home invites more creativity in lunching and snacking, but I guess being sick was the counterpoint to that–I had no appetite at all! So, let’s see if I can get caught up.

I did plan for a normal food week during Spring Break and cooked on Sunday like I always do. I’ve been thinking ahead to Spring, which is now here, but we had snow at the time, so I was doubtful, and green foods have been making their way onto the menu. So on the tenth I made Caldo Verde from Appetite for Reduction, a potato based soup with chard and tempeh. It was really good and made quite a few servings. I have discovered that I like most leafy greens, especially when they are sauteed and crispy. Kale is my favorite, but this recipe called for chard, and it is good too!

Caldo Verde

Caldo Verde

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I made Edamame Pesto recipe from AR to go with some pasta instead of my usual soup. Actually, I intended to make Cauliflower Pesto Soup as well, but the basil didn’t keep as well as I hoped, and I only had enough for one recipe. The pesto turned out a really pretty bright green–hopefully a color I will see out in nature soon! I left it thick–mixes in nicely with the rice/veggies/pasta that way.

Edamame Pesto

Edamame Pesto

I think I am close to running out of new muffin recipes in Cupcakes and Sweet Treats for Everyone!, but I’m not there yet! Two weeks ago I made Apricot Ginger Muffins, and this week it was Cinnamon Raisin. Yum and yum. I also made the Irish Soda Bread recipe in Gluten-Free and Vegan Bread, using currants instead of raisins. I was a bit suspicious because the dough was really dense, but it tasted great out of the oven.

Apricot Ginger Muffins

Apricot Ginger Muffins

photo-4 (2)

Cinnamon Raisin Muffins

This week, I finally felt like getting back in the kitchen, so I made up some Tofu Scramble from Vegan Brunch, tossing in olives and serving some roasted asparagus on the side. It disappeared so quickly, I didn’t get a picture! I also made the Multi-Grain Baguette recipe from Gluten-Free and Vegan Bread. One loaf made it into the freezer and the other into our stomachs!

On a final note, I finally reached my goal weight! Being sick and having no appetite helped, but now I am determined to stay here. I am certain changing how I was eating did a lot to help.

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

