Book Review: The Lost Hero

March 14, 2013

My daughter is a big Percy Jackson (PJ) fan, and she was excited to start the sequel series, The Heroes of Olympus, of which The Lost Hero is the first book. While PJ characters do make guest appearances, the focus of the book is three new characters: Jason, Piper, and Leo. My daughter connected with them almost right away, especially Piper, and we enjoyed reading the book together. She also thought Leo was particularly funny. The plot format is familiar–heroes get discovered, find their way to Camp Half-Blood, and have to complete a quest to more or less save the world. I won’t go into too many details here so as to not spoil anything!

My only concern is that it might have been a little too mature for her. She never complained, but there is a lot of emphasis on dating, relationships, and kissing, especially when the point of view shifts to Piper. Amazon ages the book at 10 and up, but I might make it a little older. The many references to various characters’ hotness made me uneasy, if that’s the right word, and since I was the one doing the reading, that mattered! The violence level was not a concern, however.

Now, I must add that I am not prudish about such things. Personally, I think our attitudes about sex and violence in this country are completely out of whack. But that’s another conversation. However, my daughter is nine–almost ten–and I just don’t think she needs to have these concepts on her radar yet. Had I known about this aspect of the book, I might have had her hold off for a year or so–we’ve also begun spacing out the Harry Potter books to also let her mature a bit, so she can better process some of the plot lines.

On the flip side, she didn’t seem at all phased by these elements, so maybe it is all in my head. We’ll see how the second book goes–just pre-ordered the paperback, so it will be Fall before we get to it. When did parenting become so hard!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

