Shine On Award

March 12, 2013

Last week, I received a comment from Tilda at Swift Expression, a Cupcake Odyssey, nominating my blog for a Shine On Award, and I wanted to say a big thank you! I meant to get to it right away, but life happened, and this is the first chance I have had to respond.

The Shine On award is about spreading happiness, and I am flattered that Tilda thought I was doing that. Here is what the award looks like, and also the rules for accepting, which I have copied from her page.

shineon-award

1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you.

2. Put the Award on your blog.

3. Share 7 little secrets about yourself.

4. Nominate 5 – 10 other bloggers who make others happy too.

OK, I have taken care of the first two. Now for the secrets! Hmm, that is a tough one. Most things about myself aren’t really secrets here because I have blogged about them. Some things you may not know–I am a huge Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan; I love horses and riding; I was born in Alaska, but I left when I was six-months-old, so I don’t remember it. I am writing a young adult novel called Sophia Weston: History Doctor, and I have finished a children’s book called Twinkle, the Star Kitty. I am a perfectionist. I am also stubborn. How’s that?

Now, onto the nominations!

1. The first blog I want to nominate is my husband’s, My Two Cents, Not that Anyone Asked. He is pretty new to blogging, and I would like to give him some encouragement! He also makes me very happy every day, when he isn’t driving me crazy!, so I think that qualifies him.

2. The second is written by my friend Jessica and is called What? Another Hobby? Jessica is a new friend, but I am glad to count her among the few that I have. We share interests in knitting, coffee, books, and writing, and we have kids about the same age. All reasons to be happy!

3. Next is Filling the Well, authored by Carrie Vaughn, who is one of my favorite authors. I eagerly await each new volume in the Kitty Norville series, and the next one come out next week, which makes me very happy indeed! And who can’t smile at a werewolf named Kitty. Totally awesome.

4. I have known the author of The Ethical Omnivore since she was a freshman in college and had the great luck to wind up in my Composition class. At the end of that semester, my husband and I asked her if she would like to work as a babysitter for our then toddler-sized daughter, and she said yes! That was many years ago now, and she has taken care of both our daughter and our cat–although we haven’t had an opportunity to call her for either in awhile–need to rectify that! I noticed she hasn’t blogged in awhile, so maybe this will motivate her!

5. OK–this one will have to take some thought, and I think I will have to get back to you. I need to see who else is writing out there in the blog world and what they are saying.

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

