This Week–Tex-Mex and Cajun

March 5, 2013

Well, since a break from Indian food was requested, I had to go looking for new recipes. I had been wanting to make the Tortilla Soup in Appetite for Reduction, so I decided to give it a go. And it came out delicious! I had two bowls of it at the initial serving. Unfortunately, my daughter wouldn’t eat it–she was on an “I don’t like tomatoes” kick, which is totally not true. My husband ate it, but I think it was out of solidarity more than anything else. We’ll see if he asks for leftovers at any point. If I haven’t eaten it all first!

Tortilla Soup

Tortilla Soup

For baked tofu, I found a recipe for Broiled and Blackened Tofu also in AfR. I did reduce the spice mix by half, which made it come out a little bland for me, but everyone else seems to like it. I had never used the broiler before, so that was something new. I tried not to blacken it too much, because my husband has an aversion to food that is charred–even when it is supposed to be. It took pretty close watching since I was new to the broiler, but I think the results were pretty good.

I had some leftover orange juice from a can of mandarin oranges, so I made Cranberry Orange Muffins this week for snacks. The canned oranges I buy are Natural Value, which is one of the few that actually packs in orange juice. Since we don’t normally buy oj, I save the juice in the can for baking. Better than sending it down the drain! Sadly, I just checked their website to put in a link, and it doesn’t look like they have mandarin oranges anymore. Bummer.

Cranberry Orange Muffins

Cranberry Orange Muffins

I didn’t make any Buffalo Tofu this week, but I did find a recipe for Buffalo Tempeh that I am excited to try!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

