Healthy Eating: Establishing a Habit

February 26, 2013

It has now been about two months since I started my Clean Eating Experiment, and it has been going really well. The influx of junk food has been cut off at the store, which is the easiest way to make sure we eat well–the stuff just isn’t here. I always cooked on the weekends, but the expanded routine has become habit. By the end of the day Sunday, we are pretty much set for the week, which also helps take the pressure off. We’ve also been able to restructure our schedule somewhat to that all the errands get done on Saturday, leaving Sunday as a “home day,” which helps the cooking be less stressful.

So, this week I finally got to the 2nd Avenue Vegetable Korma recipe from Appetite for Reduction that I had bought the ingredients for the week prior. I did cut way back on the curry powder, and there were no complaints! My daughter even got excited when she saw some of her favorite veggies: cauliflower, carrots, and zucchini. Served over rice, it made a nice presentation.

I also did up a batch of Basic Baked Tofu and another round of Buffalo Tofu. We were out of Mom’s Marinara, so I made another batch of that before having pizza on Saturday.

We ran out of any type of packaged baked good, so I wanted to bake two things for the days my daughter needed an extra snack for an afterschool activity. So first I made Happy Trails Muffins, still from Cupcakes and Sweet Treats for Everyone!, but I mixed all the trail mix into the batter. Since I make mini muffins, I figured that would be easier than trying to sprinkle some on top. I was looking for something chocolate to make for the second snack, and found a recipe for Chocolate Bread. I made that but decided to make them as mini muffins as well for easier portioning.

I have to say I was hasty when I read the recipe, and I didn’t notice that the chips were supposed to be melted with some of the other ingredients until it was too late. So I tossed in the chips unmelted, and the muffins came out super rich and chocolatey. Of course, I’ve never made the recipe before, so I don’t know how it is supposed to be, but I would make it this way again.

Chocolate Muffins and Happy Trails Muffins

Chocolate and Happy Trails Mini Muffins

2 Responses to “Healthy Eating: Establishing a Habit”

  1. Jeannette Baummer Says:

    They sound yummy! Would it be possible to include the recipes in a follow up blog? Thanks!

  2. kaos127 Says:

    I can’t post the recipes because it violates copyright, but you can e-mail me if there is something you are interested in!


Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

