Strawberries and Curry

February 19, 2013

My weight is holding steady at 133, which, considering there has been at least one food-related event in each of the past few weeks, isn’t that bad. I will take it! My all-time low is 131.5, and that is my goal. Now that Valentine’s Day is past, maybe I can get there!

We found a good deal on strawberries this weekend–post-Valentine’s Day, no doubt–so I used some of them to make Strawberry Granola Muffins from Enjoy Life’s Cupcakes and Sweet Treats for Everyone!–my default treat cookbook these days! However, I made quite a few tweaks this time. I used regular applesauce instead of strawberry, but I doubled the amount of berries. I also didn’t have any granola, so I mixed in about 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. The end result was moist and tasty. Again, I made them small to keep temptation to a minimum.

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

I went back to the Masala Baked Tofu recipe since that has been popular. I had some cabbage on hand, so I found a recipe for Curried Cabbage and Peas in Appetite for Reduction–my default cookbook of late for everything else! I thought it was good, but the rest of the family seems to be tiring of Indian food, so I pretty much got to eat it all myself. Unfortunately for them, I do have one more Indian recipe lined up–Vegetable Korma. Then I will take a break! Oddly enough, no complaints about the Indian-flavored tofu.

Curried Cabbage and Peas

Curried Cabbage and Peas

Before I leave Valentine’s Day completely, I should include the cupcakes I made for my daughter’s school party–there were even left-overs for us to enjoy at home. I made a batch of vanilla and a batch of chocolate and topped them with raspberry buttercream and some novelties I picked up on clearance last year. Apparently, the boys were all obsessed with the ones topped with lips. The cupcake and frosting recipes came from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, one of my absolute favorite cookbooks. And when cupcakes can be reasonably healthy, that is a good day!

Valentine's Day Cupcakes

Valentine’s Day Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

