Why Weekends are Tough

February 11, 2013

As dedicated as I am to eating well during the week, weekends still continue to be a challenge. Partly because of the change in routine. While we are out doing errands, it is easy to be distracted by all the food choices out there. However, being vegan and gluten-free does enable me to resist most of them. But this weekend we stopped at the vegan bakery in town, Xs to Os, and that is never good for my diet! She has a shelf of gluten-free goodies, and I have a tendency to over-indulge when I am in there. Luckily, I don’t stop there every day!

Having one unrestrained day a week isn’t terrible, however, and I am usually able to bounce back. Last week, I neither gained or lost weight, which, considering the Super Bowl and the extra snacks I made for that, is pretty good. Just need to get back on track this week!

Yesterday I got back to cooking, and I started with Mom’s Marinara from Appetite for Reduction. It is a great recipe even if you aren’t vegan. The batch of sauce lasted about a week, and it was nice to have fresh sauce whenever we wanted it.

I used some of the sauce to make Pepperoni Tofu, the key ingredient for Gluten-Free Vegan Pizza Wraps. I got the recipe in my e-mail, and it sounded amazing, so I had to make it. I got some red pepper hummus at the store, and I decided to forego the cheese. As usual, there was a lot of sauce for the tofu, so I made two blocks instead of one. I couldn’t wait to try it, so I grabbed one off the cookie sheet shortly after it came out of the oven. Yum! I haven’t made the wrap yet, but my daughter took a non-GF version, using a One Bun instead of a tortilla, for lunch today, and I made a version for my husband using rice.

Pepperoni Tofu

Pepperoni Tofu

For this week’s soup, I made Summer Lovin’ Curried Corn and Veggie Chowder, also from Appetite for Reduction. Isa Chandra Moskowitz, the author, suggests serving it over rice, and that is probably a good idea. The rest of the family found it too spicy as a soup, and the rice would probably cut that somewhat. I did use frozen corn, but that was what I had on hand!

Summer Lovin' Curried Corn and Veggie Chowder

Summer Lovin’ Curried Corn and Veggie Chowder

I do miss bread, but I have experimented here and there with making my own–most of the ones at the stores are not vegan. Yesterday I got the urge again and made the Petite Buckwheat Round from Gluten-Free and Vegan Bread. The buckwheat flavor was nice, and I resisted eating the whole loaf! The only thing better than bread, is bread right out of the oven!

Petite Buckwheat Round

Petite Buckwheat Round

My daughter’s snack this week is a batch of Muffin Man Gingerbread Muffins from Enjoy Life’s Cupcakes and Sweet Treats for Everyone! I have to make treats for her Valentine’s Day party at school, but I am putting that off until Wednesday, so I am less tempted to sample!

Muffin Man Gingerbread Muffins

Muffin Man Gingerbread Muffins

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

