February Blues

February 7, 2013

Or should I say purples! Purple food has been a bit of a theme this week. I made some blueberry mini muffins on Sunday for snacks this week–only I tripled the amount of blueberries the recipe called for–1/3 cup was not enough!

Then, last night, I made the Peruvian Purple Potato Soup recipe from Appetite for Reduction–and it did come out purple! I substituted half a can of chopped green chilies for the jalapenos and parsley for the cilantro. If you can get past the color, it is really tasty. I tossed in some baby kale when I had mine, which added a nice contrast!

Since my daughter just finished a project on Francisco Pizarro, who conquered Peru for Spain way back when, she wanted to rename the soup Pizarro’s Peruvian Purple Potato Soup, which make it an alliterative mouthful. But if that gets her to eat it…..

Blueberry Mini Muffins

Blueberry Mini Muffins

soup

(Pizarro’s) Peruvian Purple Potato Soup

Since the muffins are pretty much the same recipe I have used for the other muffins I have been making, I am guessing they will be 3 points each as well. The soup, based on six servings, comes in at 3-4 points per serving–WW’s recipe builder said 3, using the nutritional info in the book said 4.

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

