Back on Track!

February 5, 2013

Well, I am officially blaming the presidential inauguration, and my daughter’s party in honor of it,  for my weight gain two weeks about. Last week I was back on my plan, and I not only lost what I put on, but another pound as well. Yippee! However, I don’t know what this week will bring, what with some relaxing of the dining rules because of the Super Bowl. But I know that, whatever happens, as long as I rededicate myself going forward, I should be OK.

Actually, we didn’t go too overboard with football inspired snacking. I did make some chocolate ice cream on Saturday, and that has been the biggest culprit. But I had a week of lunches to prepare for, so it couldn’t be all treats!

Still working through Appetite for Reduction, I went back to the Masala Tofu recipe since that was such a hit. We were out of bottled pasta sauce, so I tried the recipe for Mom’s Marinara. It was easy since it called for canned tomatoes, and it came out quite good. Since I imagine canned tomatoes are less expensive than bottled sauce, that will also help my grocery budget! I also made the Black Eyed Pea and Tempeh Beanballs, and they were also delicious. I would just leave them in the oven a bit longer next time, and I would like them a little browner.

At the end of last week, I made a box of Lundberg Farms Roasted Brown Rice Couscous, so that has been the starch this week. I made a microwaveable dish for my husband yesterday with the beanballs, marinara, and couscous. He still eats limited dairy, so I sprinkled some cheese on top. He has lost over six pounds so far with our revised eating plan! The rice couscous is quite good, you just need to follow the directions exactly.

Rice Couscous, Marinara, and Tempeh Beanballs

Rice Couscous, Marinara, and Tempeh Beanballs

For those interested in the Weight Watchers points, the couscous has 5 per cup, and, according to the nutritional data included with the recipe, three beanballs are 4 points. The recipe is supposed to make 20, so that is what it is based on.

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

