Product Review: Amy’s Gluten Free Sandwich Rounds

January 29, 2013

000049

When I first heard of these, I was ecstatic–finding bread that is both vegan and gluten-free is a bit of a challenge. And Amy’s Kitchen is my go-to place for frozen foods. I was envisioning something like the Ozery One Buns I get for my husband and daughter. Sadly, this was not the case. They are good toasted, and they make good pizza crusts, but I do not see how they could make anything other than an open-faced sandwich. Since that is how they are pictured on the box, I’m guessing the folks at Amy’s know this too. But I ordered these having never seen them in person, so it was a bit of a gamble. I also don’t see how they could be eaten cold–they need toasting.

Like other Amy’s products, the ingredients are all recognizable as real food: Organic rice flour, filtered water, organic sunflower seed meal, organic tapioca starch, organic potatoes, organic extra virgin olive oil, organic agave nectar, sea salt, yeast, organic rice bran extract. So they are good for people trying to avoid preservatives and chemical in their diet. And they do use organic ingredients whenever possible.

So, in the end, I can’t rave about them, because I can’t use them for a burger, for example. But I have been using them as pizza bases every week since I ran out of homemade dough, and they are good for that. I actually think it is the same recipe that they use for their pizza crust–the texture and taste is the same. Will I order them again? Probably not. I can make pizza crust, and I would rather save my food money for something else. But I do still love the company. Maybe they will have a true sandwich round in the near future!

 

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

