Another Busy Day in the Kitchen!

January 28, 2013

I hit the cookbooks again this weekend and planned some tasty options for the week. First off, I went back to Vegan Lunch Box Around the World for my daughter. She has wanted me to make Omega-3 Protein Bars, but I didn’t have rice protein powder. I finally got a packet–didn’t want to invest in a whole can for one recipe–and was able to make it. The packet didn’t have enough, so I used rice flour to make up the difference. I also substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and sprinkled some chocolate chips on top. Last tweak was to cut them into 16 instead of 8–that seemed a better size.

Omega-3 Protein Bars

Omega-3 Protein Bars

For my other recipes I stuck with Appetite for Reduction. I went back to the Basic Baked Tofu recipe, halving the marinade right off the bat this time. I also added about a teaspoon of Dijon mustard. It came out much better this go around. I was also better about spraying the pan with a little oil, which solved the sticking problem I was having.

For soup this week, I made Bistro Broccoli Chowder, which also had parsnips and potatoes. I used a bag of frozen broccoli instead of buying fresh since I already had that in the house. It came out quite good and was a hit with everyone. Unfortunately, I didn’t take a picture when we had it yesterday!

I also made the Baked Falafel recipe in the book. I didn’t have any hot sauce, so I think I should have added a little more liquid to compensate because they were just a little dry. But in a rice tortilla with some salad greens and horseradish mayo, they were quite tasty.

Baked Falafel

Baked Falafel

For those who would like the Weight Watchers Points, here they are!

  • Soup: 2 points (same for six or eight servings)
  • Bars: 4 points each–may be closer to 5–I had trouble with the Recipe Builder
  • Falafel: 4 points (based on eighteen patties divided into four servings)
Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

