Handling Setbacks

January 25, 2013

Well, my streak had to end sooner or later. This week, I not only didn’t lose any weight, I actually put on 1/2 a pound. However, I do think I know why this happened. At least, I have some theories.

First, I live in the Northeast, and it has been brutally cold the past few days. As a result of this, and the fact that I keep the thermostat as low as I can stand it, I have been craving things like peanut butter–fat and protein. I think my body has kicked into winter survival mode. Of course, I know that I’m not in danger of freezing to death, but my lizard brain doesn’t. And the lizard brain has been demanding fuel. Unfortunately, I have a jar of Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter in the closet, and it has been satisfying my cravings. Quite honestly, I am surprised I have only gained 1/2 a pound. But perhaps shivering has helped compensate!

I have tried to track my points closely every day, but it tends to fall apart in the afternoon and evening when Lizard Brain wants the Justin’s jar. So I have been exceeding my points. I can only do so much of that before I start to see negative results. Again, I know this, but Lizard Brain can be very insistent. Connected to this is the fact that I haven’t been eating nearly as many greens as I used to. My veggie intake is way down, and that needs to change. Today. When I was working, I would take a salad for lunch every day–a big one. Now that I am not, I am more easily lured by other things. I still try to keep the point values low, but greens are filling, they offer fiber–lots of things I have been missing out on. So, despite the cold, it is salad for lunch today! I will have it with quinoa and a veggie burger, which will add some warmth.

On another note, the Indian food I made this week was a huge hit with everyone. All the Dal and the Masala Tofu were gone by lunch Wednesday. Which was kind of disappointing for me because I was counting on having that tofu all week! And I have been pretty good about ignoring the Brown Sugar Muffins. Most of them have been going in my daughter’s lunch box!

So, time to regroup the dietary troops, find some good recipes for next week, and carry on!

2 Responses to “Handling Setbacks”


  1. I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!! I certainly loved every bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…


Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

