Bring Out the Spice!

January 22, 2013

While I am not into Five Alarm Chili or those crazy peppers that make you cry and sweat, I do enjoy food with a little kick. Sadly, the rest of my family does not share my flavor preferences, so I do try to scale it back when cooking and just add extra seasonings to my dish.

I was feeling global this weekend when I did my cooking. Appetite for Reduction struck again, and I made Quinoa Puttanesca on Sunday. I actually had the sauce with pasta that day and made the quinoa to have during the week. I only had red and black quinoa on hand, so I went with the red. The sauce came out nice and tangy, and, since I am the only one who likes Kalamata olives and capers, it is all for me! I did give a little bit of it to my daughter to try, but she wasn’t a fan. My husband’s dislike of capers is not as strong as his dislike of peanut butter, but one caper accidentally found its way on his plate, and it was still sitting there at the end of the meal!

Puttanesca Sauce and Red Quinoa

Puttanesca Sauce and Red Quinoa

I made the Masala Baked Tofu recipe this week, halving all the marinade ingredients but still using 2 blocks of tofu. Everybody liked that, especially when I paired it with brown rice and Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal I made yesterday–and the rest of the family took again in their lunch boxes today. Yummy, yummy! The Dal features carrots, parsnips, and turnips. I had some baby turnips in the fridge, so this was a good use for them.

Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal

Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal

Masala Baked Tofu

Masala Baked Tofu

For my daughter’s snack this week, I made some mini Naturally Sweet Brown Sugar Muffins from Enjoy Life’s Cupcakes and Sweet Treats for Everyone! She had a couple of friends over yesterday to watch some of the inauguration, so I topped them with red sugar to make them more festive. Keeping them mini helps me portion control!

Brown Sugar Muffins

Brown Sugar Muffins

If you are interested in the Weight Watchers Points, they are–

Puttanesca Sauce: 2–based on six servings

Masala Baked Tofu: 2 per slice–based on ten slices total

Red Lentil and Root Veggie Dal: 3–based on six servings

Brown Sugar Mini Muffins: Recipe Builder said 2, but I may go with 3 to be on the safe side

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

