Slow and Steady Wins the Race!

January 18, 2013

That’s what they say, right? Well, though I am typically an impatient person, I dropped another 1/2 pound this week, so I am inclined to believe them in this instance! I over-indulged in cashews a bit, so I was concerned, but the scale gave me good news! Since the only thing I am doing differently is changing how I eat, that has to be the key. I am certainly not exercising more!

I should note that I prefer to judge my weight by how I feel and how my clothes fit, and those are my primary indicators. But cold, hard numbers looking up at you from a scale can be both motivation and reassurance.  And I have to check in with Weight Watchers once a month to keep free access to the points calculators, and they check numbers. I am bad at motivating myself–without some sort of deadline or check system, I won’t get anything done–and I need those deadlines pretty much in front of my face. That’s why the due dates for all my repeating bills are on a dry erase board on my desk–nothing would ever get paid otherwise! So the points and the scale help me. Not having food in the house to tempt me also helps. I know my weaknesses and do my best to keep them way beyond arm’s length!

Although good fruit is difficult to come by for much of the winter, I do enjoy that it is now citrus season. A couple of years ago, I discovered red grapefruit and became smitten. It is not your mother’s grapefruit! I remember eating white and pink grapefruits as a kid, and they were horrible–or it could be that my palette simply hadn’t matured yet. But I have retried those as an adult, and they are still not my favorite. But the red ones are sweeter and really good–I do sprinkle a little sugar on top of each half. I often grave them–I think it is the blend of bitter and sweet that does something good for the taste buds. I don’t know, but I just had one for breakfast, and it made me happy!

Have yet to decide what will be on the menu for next week. It is supposed to be pretty cold here, so another soup is likely to be called for. Time to hit the cookbooks!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

