This Week’s Food

January 15, 2013

Had another busy day in the kitchen Sunday. I did decide to make the Arabian Lentil and Rice Soup from Appetite for Reduction. But I was low on vegetable broth, so I made a batch of that first. I used a recipe from Great Gluten-Free Vegan Eats that was very basic. Just carrots, onion, and celery in water. I added a bay leaf, but the recipe didn’t ask for any herbs. The recipe did ask for other veggies I didn’t have, but it did say those were optional, that the three I used were the key ones.

Anyway, the soup came out good, but on the bland side. I rarely add salt and pepper when cooking, preferring to let people do their own, but this was seriously plain. Of course, that may also be the result of the vegetable broth that I made and have nothing at all to do with the soup! When I had some yesterday, I added salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes. The soup also thickened up a lot after it was done. I have needed to thin it with more broth.

It is also a pretty soup. The red lentils cook to a nice yellow color, and I used red carrots, which add nice accents. Not sure if that comes out well in the picture!

For those who might be interested in the Weight Watchers numbers, at six servings, what the recipe states, the soup has 5 points. Like last week’s soup, eight servings seemed more reasonable when it came to portion sizes, and that would be 3 points.

Arabian Lentil and Rice Soup

Arabian Lentil and Rice Soup

I made another batch of baked tofu using the rest of the marinade from last week. I stirred in about a teaspoon of Dijon mustard, and that perked it up a bit.

We were almost out of peanut butter cookies, so I decided on Banana Wanna Muffins for this week, from Enjoy Life’s Cupcakes and Sweet Treats for Everyone! I made them mini-muffin sized so they would go further, and I know that I can’t eat just half a muffin–or any treat for that matter! This way, I can play some mind games with myself. I did add one bit of decadence in the form of a single chocolate chip on the top of each one. They are yummy!

Banana Wanna Muffins

Banana Wanna Muffins

So we will see how this week goes!

2 Responses to “This Week’s Food”

  1. Marthafied Says:

    Lentils and rice! Sounds like a very hearty and filling soup!


Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

