Resisting Temptation

January 1, 2013

The biggest challenge with any type of life change is resisting the temptations out there in the world. Even the best intentions can be easily undermined. So, for example, Friday I went to knitting class, which is usually a food safe zone for me, until someone showed up with a big bag of chocolates that sat on the table for the whole two hours. I was good, however, and only ate one piece. Mainly because I knew I was going to have to report in here! Nothing like accountability to keep one honest!

Eating out is another situation rife with temptation. Friday, my husband and I ate at a health food store that has a lunch buffet, so that was safe: rice, roasted veggies, and tofu. I even resisted the natural sodas and got iced tea instead. At home for dinner, we had more rice and roasted veggies.

Saturday brought an unplanned dining out, and we wound up at Moe’s. I started off pretty good with a shell-less salad, but I did get a side of chips, so I probably remained neutral on that one. Then yesterday, a trip to the mall found us at the food court at lunch time. But I stuck to a salad from Mr. Subb and a side of pintos without cheese from Taco Bell. Maybe not great, but there were plenty of worse options!

The key is to not get sucked into the eating out trap, obviously, and to commit to eating at home. Sunday I made a big pot of Mac and cheese with gluten-free pasta, soy milk, and Daiya cheese. It was quite yummy. And last night I made waffles for New Year’s Eve. Also yummy. Today I think we can get by pretty much on left overs, which leaves me time to knit and watch the parade!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

