Game of Thrones: Hitting the Reading Wall

November 15, 2012

I had heard so much about Game of Thrones–from students, friends, all quarters really–that I decided I had to give it a go. I used to be a serious epic fantasy reader, so it’s not it was a genre I was unfamiliar with. And it was great. I was captivated by the characters, the plot was engrossing–I just couldn’t put it down. I was even reading it both in e-book and paper form, so I was covered in any situation.

Until I got to about page 500. Then I hit some kind of wall. I’m not sure what happened. It’s not the length–I read insanely long books all the time. It’s not the genre–at least I don’t think it is. Although I’ve been more into urban fantasy lately, as a medievalist, epic fantasy will always have a place on my bookshelf. I just got bored and ceased to care. It seemed to happen between one page and the next. I’ve never had anything like this happen to me before.

I’ve been trying to keep going. After all, I’ve read about 70% of it. But I find myself just looking at summaries online to fill in the rest of the plot. I am also still interested in seeing the TV series–the first season anyway–but I don’t see myself reading any of the other books. I’m even writing this because I couldn’t muster up the interest to go back to reading it.

And yesterday I got an e-mail from the library that a new e-book is in for me, so it is even more tempting to put it aside. Maybe we just need a break. Guess only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

