Macaroni and Cheese!

September 17, 2012

I had a busy Sunday in the kitchen, which is a sure sign of Fall!

I found a recipe for vegan and gluten-free macaroni and cheese online, and always on the lookout for some good mac and cheese, I decided to try it out. I substituted a blend of regular and light soymilk for the almond milk and arrowroot for the corn starch. It was creamy and delicious out of the pot, but I baked it in ramekins and muffin tins to make individual portions–like the recipe suggested–except I added some parsley to the pasta and sprinkled g-f bread crumbs on top. There was some sauce left over in the pan, so I cut up some bread and had fondue! I served it with sauteed chard and tempeh sausage crumbles. The tempeh recipe came from Vegan Brunch. I think I will skip the liner cups next time I do this.

Mac and cheese in ramekins

Macaroni and cheese cooked in muffin tin

Plated mac and cheese with chard and tempeh sausage

My daughter was so excited, she asked if she could take it for lunch this week since they now have a microwave available at lunch. The muffin-sized portions made this easy–although I ended up giving her 1.5 “muffins.” One just didn’t look like enough. My husband, not being a fan of mac and cheese, had to settle for rice with his tempeh and veggies.

Needing a new snack for lunch this week, I tweaked a date bar recipe I found in Vegan Family Meals. Not only did I make it gluten free, but I used a jar of my mom’s homemade mincemeat (no real meat, of course!) instead of the dates. And I used a 9×9 pan instead of the 9×13 the recipe called for–didn’t look like the dough would go that far. Lastly, I sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar. We enjoyed taste testing while they were still warm from the oven.

G-F Mincemeat Bar

2 Responses to “Macaroni and Cheese!”

  1. sani panini Says:

    Looks great !


Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

