Summer Reflections, Part 2

September 14, 2012

I did promise  my next post would be about food! Even though time is in more abundance over the summer, I seem to cook less–at least fewer elaborate recipe-based things. We do get a fabulous CSA share every week from Denison Farm, so I am always sauteing or roasting something and putting it with rice or pasta, but meals just seem simpler. However, I didn’t shelve my culinary skills completely!

We decided to have a yard sale in August, and my daughter wanted some “Mommy Muffins” to go with the lemonade stand she was planning to set up. What I made were Blueberry Bounty Buns, from Vive le Vegan!, which are a cross between a muffin and a scone–with CSA blueberries, of course–and they were a big hit.

Blueberry Bounty Buns

With an abundance of blueberries, I also made a gluten-free version of a blueberry coffee cake recipe that turned out delicious!

G-F Blueberry Coffee Cake

When the start of school gets closer, my cooking drive seems to come back on–go figure–partly out of necessity, I suppose. Needing snacks to send in to my daughter’s classroom both for every day and for impromptu birthday parties, I put together a batch of Apple Raisin Muffins, from The Vegetarian Family Cookbook,  and Double Chocolate Almond Explosion cookies, also from Vive le Vegan!, over Labor Day Weekend.

Apple Raisin Muffins

Double Chocolate Almond Explosion Cookies

And then on Labor Day, I made Mixed Pasta Alfredo, using the remaining bits of a bunch of different open bags of pasta, and the Alfredo recipe from Urban Vegan. I included some CSA broccoli and yellow peppers from my garden, and served it with my baked tofu.

Pasta Alfredo and Baked Tofu

And that’s been it so far!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

