Results of the Dorset Apple Cake Challenge!

April 30, 2012

As I noted last week, my friend Elaine in Wales challenged me to make a vegan and gluten-free version of Dorset Apple Cake. I went into baking mode yesterday, and I think the results were quite good–my daughter and husband agreed. My modified recipe contained–

Dorset Apple Cake

1 cup of gluten-free ap flour blend (I use the recipe from the King Arthur Flour website, which I think is quite good)
1 Tbs cake enhancer (optional–available from King Arthur)
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
1/2 cup sugar
1 stick Earth Balance butter substitute, cut into small pieces
2 Tbs ground flax seeds mixed with 3 Tbs water
1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and diced

-Preheat oven to 375F.
-Put flour, baking powder, salt, and cake enhancer, if using, into a mixing bowl. Add the butter and cut in with a knife until pea-sized and the mixture looks crumbly. Add the sugar, flax mixture, and apple. Mix together.
-I did add a little extra water at this point, because it seemed a little dry.
-Spoon into a greased 8″ cake pan. At this point I did sprinkle my cake with some of the brown sugar-cinnamon mix I had left over from my Cinnamon Roll Waffles.
-Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until set and golden in color.
-Eat! I cut mine into eight slices.

Dorset Apple Cake

A slice of cake

I also made another of Elaine’s dinner recipes yesterday as well–a total Welsh homage. I did tweak it a little–though not at much as the lentil dish.

Spinach and Chick Pea Curry

1-14.5 oz can Muir Glen Fire-Roasted Crushed Tomatoes
1 1/2 cups chickpeas (rinsed and drained if canned)
5 oz container fresh spinach leaves
1/2 tsp ground ginger ginger
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 1/2 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne

Heat a little olive oil in a pan, add everything except spinach. When it is heated through and thickened a bit, stir in the spinach and cook until wilted.

I served it with a mix of short-grain brown and Lotus Foods Jade Pearl Rice, which is a lovely green color. Unfortunately, it doesn’t show up in the picture as well next to the brown! My daughter loved it, but spinach is one of her favorite foods, so I figured she would.

Spinach Chick Pea Curry

Curry with Rice

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

