Soup’s On!

February 21, 2012

Sunday felt like a soup day, and I had a French Lentil Soup recipe I wanted to try, so it all worked out! I did tweak it a little–I had regular brown lentils on hand, so I used those instead of buying French ones. And before adding the spinach, I used my immersion blender to make it a little thicker. It was quite tasty–even my daughter liked it (although she did ask where the pasta was).

While the soup was cooking, I was working on my weekly batch of baked tofu. The recipe came from Vegetarian Times, I think.

2 blocks of extra firm tofu, each sliced into five sections and pressed to get out the extra water
1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
2 Tbs toasted sesame oil
1/2 tsp Chinese five-spice powder or to taste

–After the tofu has been pressed dry, which I do on the same cookie sheet I am going to bake it on, I mix the tamari, oil, and spice in a measuring cup and pour it over the slices, swirling it around until the slices are evenly covered. Then bake at 400 for an hour, flipping the slices halfway through. I usually leave them in a bit longer–I like my tofu crispy!

Although the original recipe calls for only 1 block of tofu, I’ve found that a lot of marinade gets wasted that way, so I’ve started doubling the tofu, which soaks it all up!

And if that wasn’t enough to have going on, my daughter wanted hummus sandwiches for camp this week, so we made a batch of that too from the recipe in Vegan Lunchbox. She helped run the food processor!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

a blog about capsule wardrobes + mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

