Happy Holidays!

December 28, 2011

There has been a lot of food, and other things, between when I last posted and now.

Thanksgiving features roasted vegetables from our CSA, Chickpeas Patties from Veganomicon, which had wheat gluten as a key ingredient and I figured this was not the time to experiment, so I made Smoky Grilled Tempeh for myself–I think that was from the same cookbook. There were leftover pumpkin rolls from my daughter’s lunch menu. And apple pie and pumpkin pie for dessert. Everything was delicious, and, of course, I forgot to take pictures!

The Gingerbread Vegans were a hit, as were the snowflakes I made from the same dough for my daughter’s annual snowflake party. This week, since there is more time because of vacations, lunch is Pepperoni Pizza Grilled Cheese–a small whole wheat pita, tomato sauce, Daiya mozzarella, and Yves pepperoni, grilled until melty and then packed for lunch with some veggies, fruit, and snacks. I can’t imagine it stays warm until lunch time, but I haven’t heard any complaints! Unfortunately, the finished product isn’t very photogenic.

Going through Vegan Lunch Box for my daughter’s lunches has inspired me to take on a cookbook challenge for the family as a whole. The obvious would be to make every recipe in a particular book, but I am still thinking. Of course, this would be more fun to do with a dessert cookbook, but I must be good!

My husband and I went to see Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol yesterday, and that was fun. Not fun was the fact that the soda and popcorn, even with coupons, cost more than the tickets! And these were small sizes too! Crazy. My husband noted that spy gadgets don’t look all that futuristic anymore–they just use iPhones and iPads with better apps. And cases, apparently–he was a bit annoyed that after a serious amount of physical trauma, Ethan Hunt’s phone was still working. I like that the stars of the Swedish Dragon Tattoo movies are getting more exposure–Michael Nyqvist, who played Blomqvist, is the Big Bad in Ghost Protocol, and Noomi Rapace, who played Lisbeth, is in the new Sherlock Holmes movie–which I would still like to see just to see her. I know it got terrible reviews, but…!

Back to food, and I need to be thinking about dinner, so that will have to be it for today!

Leave a Reply

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Un-Fancy

mindful style

the knit cafe

a wonderful place to gather, learn, shop and hang out!

Filling the Well

ideas are like oxygen: a journal by Carrie Vaughn

X's to O's Vegan Bakery

baked with kindness, organic at it's finest!

the.ethical.omnivore

one girl, trying to live better

